095 21184
Clifden Community School
Careers guidance
Way 2 Pay
VS Ware

First Year Public Speaking

Congratulations to the winning team from 1C, Dara Coyne, Sam Gray and Aoife Sheridan, who won the First Year Public Speaking Competition. In addition to our winning team, Féile O'Donovan (1D) won best speaker. Well done to all!
First Year Public Speaking

Wednesday, the 20th of December 2017, saw Clifden Community School host it's fourth annual First Year Public Speaking competition. Four teams, from each first year group, were selected to represent their class in our school's public speaking competition, exclusive to first year students.

The teams for each class ere comprised as follows:

1A: Sean Gay De March, Éabha Matz, Sara Hefefrnan and Andrew Thornton (as the Genie)

1B: Finlay Yule, Molly Boote and Rachel Malone

1C: Aoife Sheridan, Dara Coyne and Sam Gray (Winning Team)

1D: Katie Fulham Graham, Jack Boote and Féile O' Donovan (Best Speaker)

The competition was a great success. It was clear that each member of the four teams worked very hard both in preparing and deliverying their speeches on their chosen topic.

We would like to thank our adjudicators, Dr Liam Bolger, Ms Hunter and Brendan Joyce (6A), who had the very tough decision in selecting the winning team and speaker. We would also like to thank our chairperson, Meadhbh Heanue (2C) and timpekeepers, Oran Walsh (2C) and Devlin O'Toole (2C).

Thank you to our Principal, Ms Kelly, who oversaw the organization of the event.

Finally, a big thank you to all of the first year English teachers who worked tirelessly to prepare each team for the competition; Ms Hanley, Ms Moroney, Ms Maloney and Ms Mernagh.

Clifden Community School
Co Galway
H71 W673

095 21184

© 2021 Clifden Community School